Remote Management Console for Server 2012

Running in core mode means that on the server all the typical UI management that I use to do has all gone and is left to cmd operations. I personally don’t want to remember specific commands and rather would like a point and click way to do things.

I’ve installed the remote server administration tools on my windows 8 dev machine http://www.microsoft.com/en-us/download/details.aspx?id=28972.

Just as an aside, why windows doesn’t automatically enable num lock I’ll never know? I guess it helps with laptops but for us PC users I wish there was a way to work out the difference.

Back on topic the interface on windows 8 is quite nice. Very simple and experience is quite painless until I try to connect to the remote server in the server manager.

I followed the steps but I got no objects found with property displaygroup equal to “remote administration” when trying to follow the steps for “To configure Windows Firewall to allow MMC snap-in(s) to connect.”

Will look into how to fix this and post the steps.

Leave a Reply

